Eligibility to take the NEET exam for NRIs

The National Eligibility and Entrance Exam, also known as NEET, is an all-India medical entrance examination that is administered by the National Testing Agency (NTA) for the purpose of admittance into a variety of medical and dentistry institutes located throughout the country. In addition, Indian students who want to study dentistry or medicine outside of the country are required to take the NEET exam.

Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) who are interested in taking the NEET exam are required to satisfy a number of eligibility requirements in order to take the test. In this essay, we shall go into detail about the NEET exam eligibility requirements for NRIs.

NRIs’ Qualifying Scores for the NEET Exam

The following is a list of the requirements that must be met for NRIs in order for them to be eligible to take the NEET exam:


Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) need to either be citizens of India or have a card that says they are an Overseas Citizens of India (OCI).

To be eligible to take the NEET exam, non-resident Indians (NRIs) must be at least 17 years old as of the 31st of December in the year in which they are seeking admission. The maximum age for participants is not specified.

Educational Requirements

Non-Resident Indians are required to have finished their 10+2 or an equivalent examination from a board that is recognized, with English, Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and Biology/Biotechnology all being required subjects. The minimum required percentage for these subjects is 50% for students applying under the General category, 45% for candidates applying under the General-PH category, and 40% for candidates applying under the SC/ST/OBC category.

NEET Eligibility

In order to be eligible for NEET, non-resident Indians (NRIs) need to satisfy the conditions that have been established by the NTA. This comprises both the obligatory registration and application process, as well as the achievement of the needed minimum qualifying grades on the NEET examination.

Additional Prerequisites 

Non-Resident Indians who have completed their studies outside of India are required to provide their educational records to the Association of Indian Universities in order to receive equivalency for their degrees (AIU). In order for them to be eligible to submit an application to medical or dental school in India, they must first get an Eligibility Certificate from the Medical Council of India (MCI).

NEET Exam Pattern

The NEET examination lasts for three hours and is comprised of 180 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) drawn from the subjects of physics, chemistry, and biology (Botany and Zoology). Each question is worth four points, and you will lose one point for every response that is incorrect. The examination is carried out using a pen and paper, and it can be taken in any one of the following languages: English, Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Odia, Telugu, Tamil, or Urdu.

The following is a breakdown of the question types that will be on the NEET:

  • 45 questions totalling 180 points are included in the physics portion.
  • 45 questions totalling 180 points are included in the chemistry section.
  • The Biology (Botany and Zoology) Exam consists of 90 Questions Worth a Total of 360 Marks

    The examination is given in a single sitting, and the candidates are not permitted to leave the testing room until the test has been completed. The candidate’s knowledge, comprehension, application skills, and analytical prowess will all be tested through the use of the questions on the examination.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *